Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry Newsletter
0:00
-32:17

Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry Newsletter

A Special Treat with a reading from One of the Authors

Cead Fáilte

A thousand welcomes to Crann na beatha Short Stories and Poetry for May 3rd, 2024

I am back again with more stories and a poem for everyone. We have chapter fourteen from Beyond the Water Wall, another short, real short continuation of The Elementals, a adaption of two children’s stories mixed together that the authors actually read themselves and a nature themed poem, to which the author asked me to mention her book, The Honey in the Bones published by Dragonfly Press in 2022.

Gather around under my village tree and let us read the stories and poem to you. Warning once again, there is some minor language in the first story that may not be suitable for young children. I rate it as PG.

I have been contacted by a well respected writer in Medium.com asking if I will read one of her serialized stories sometime and I replied that I would look into it as soon as I am finished reading Don Woodby’s story here.

I try not to have too many serialized stories running at the same time to keep people’s interest from flagging. I am working hard at keeping things diversified as much as I can, although I am partial to nature and meditative poems.

That doesn’t mean that people shouldn’t reach out and let me know that you may have something you think I should read for the audience. I am always open for suggestions. I am easy to find. I have a contact page on my website noted above and if you can’t contact me through Substack, you may reach out to me there.

Since I have such a special addition to this week’s show, I highly recommend everyone listen to this week’s episode because of the very fine telling of Alice in the Hundred Aker Woodland by Pernoste & Dahl. They sent me an audio file that is sooo much better than if I had read this.

I will remind everyone that I do offer that option. If you want to read your own story or poem and have me add it to the podcast, reach out to me and we can make some arrangements. A handful of people have taken advantage of this offer that turned out very well. A case in point is the story in today’s show, which is a cut above anything I have added to my podcast to date. Listen for yourself.


I just noticed something for which I must apologize for now. The authors asked me to read a special introduction to Alice in the Hundred Aker Woodland and I completely forgot. I hope they will forgive my lack of memory. I even made a large font note to do this and I still missed it. I guess that is part of getting old.

I did add in my little commercial right before the Alice in the Hundred Aker Woodland story. I hope it doesn’t take away from how special this story is. Maybe those couple of minutes will give parents some time to sit their children down to listen to the story. One can only hope. Let me know if you feel that is too much of a distraction and I will do something different next time.

As always, if you read the stories and poem here, please let the writers know how much you appreciate their efforts by clapping, highlighting and replying. Some of these folks need the income they generate from all of this work.

Now for the links to the stories and poem, if you wish to read along as you listen to the show.

From Beyond the Water Wall

Chapter 14/26 — A New Shelter

Don Woodby

A New Ally: The Elementals Pt. 5

“We have one more extraction. Someone named Geo…”

H.R. Parker

Alice in the Hundred Aker Woodland

a short story inspired by Lewis Carroll and A.A. Milne

Pernoste & Dahl

All In

A poem

Caroline Mellor

That is all I have once again. I hope you will return again next week for more. Sláinte


Go raibh maith agat. Thank you for listening to the show today. I hope you enjoyed the variety of stories and poems again this week. Maybe one of them might touch your heart a little.

Disclosure for everyone; In order to read the complete stories and poems, you will need to sign up for a subscription in Medium. If I see a link by the author on one of the stories to allow everyone to read it, I will let you know in the newsletters.

Please return again next week for another episode of Crann na Beatha Stories and Poetry.

As a Seanchaí, I want to continue to delight you with a story or a poem that may bring you a smile or make you think a little after we part for the day.

 As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. "Long-life and fair health to you - Saol fada agus breac-sláinte chugat." "Slán go fóill - goodbye for now".

T. Ó Domhnaill - Gaelic Seanchaí

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
A weekly podcast where I read stories I gather from writers around the world. Stories about scary things, daring do and ancient heroes. I throw in a little gael and Irish music to make it feel more like a Irish seanchai telling stories under the digital village oak tree. RSSVERIFY