Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry Newsletter
0:00
-30:31

Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry Newsletter

Some Different Stories and Poems this Week

Cead Fáilte romhat!

A thousand welcomes to Crann na beatha Short Stories and Poetry for May 10th, 2024

Your village Seanchaí is back again with more stories and poems for everyone.

I have four stories and two poems this week. The first is chapter fifteen of the ongoing story From Beyond the Water Wall, a story about American civil war veterans that will shake you up at the end, a wonderful story about a wolf puppy and his savior. This story comes in two parts. I will read the second part next week. A story of a city park, a science fiction poem and another Zen poem by Dave B.

So gather round once more and let me read them to you under the shade of the crann na beatha, the tree of life. Click the play button above to listen to the selections I have this week.


I don’t have much going on this week out of the ordinary. I continue to work on my other podcast and gather more stories and poems from people. I found a new writer in Substack this week, with whom I plan to share some of her work here sometime soon.

She is a wife and mother from the North of Ireland, not to far from Belfast, she says. As she has little ones to take care of, she doesn’t write every day so we need to be a bit patient ( I am talking to me self here more than anyone else).

Other than that, we welcome late spring as it quickly fades into summer now. Writers are already talking about wildfire season and we are expected to have a lot of named hurricanes this year in North America. I can hardly wait for all of that. I am glad I live in a fairly safe area, for know.

Which brings me back to something I touched on last week that I want to emphasize again. I am working harder to keep this show at a G or at worse, a PG rating so that parents can feel safe enough to play this for their children as bedtime stories or even if they want to play them for quiet time during afternoon nap time.

I have grandchildren of my own and they are who I think of when I am reading these stories and poems to all of you in the world, no matter where you are. I just wished there was a way I could translate it into all of the languages around the world so all of the parents and children everywhere can listen in peace.

That is the biggest thing I am working on these days, is promoting peace for everyone, everywhere around the world. I use my other podcast to bring attention to the injustices in the world so I won’t talk about that here. This podcast is strictly for bringing a little measure of peace and tranquility to peoples homes for thirty minutes a week to take them away from all of the bad things we have to deal with everyday now.

I hope I am doing that. For those few readers who find this and read it through, pass this podcast on to those who can’t afford to read this newsletter. It’s more about listening to the podcast, which is free, than reading about my musings here. If you are reading this paragraph, good on you. I thank you for your support. My writings are nowhere near as entertaining as the stories and poems I read every week.

All right then, I won’t bore you with anymore of my blather. Here are this week’s stories and poems that I selected to read for the podcast.

From Beyond the Waterwall

Chapter 15/26 — Dilemma

Don Woodby

Toasting Fallen Brothers

A Short Story

Kelly Ronayne

After the First Shot

Only the strongest would survive

Mariana Busarova

The Wild Treasure in the Old Park

Sadie returns to the one place she truly felt a connection with to rediscover some of nature’s magic

Sara Fellers

Life Loop

A science fiction poem

L. R. Conti

Witness

Dave B.

I don’t have any more for you. I wish all of you a blessed weekend and week ahead. May the sun and gentle rain wash away your troubles and your day pass like a warm breeze on your cheek. Sláinte


Go raibh maith agat. Thank you for listening to the show today. I hope you enjoyed the variety of stories and poems again this week. Maybe one of them might touch your heart a little.

Disclosure for everyone; In order to read the complete stories and poems, you will need to sign up for a subscription in Medium.

Please return again next week for another episode of Crann na Beatha Stories and Poetry.

As a Seanchaí, I want to continue to delight you with a story or a poem that may bring you a smile or make you think a little after we part for the day.

 As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. "Long-life and fair health to you - Saol fada agus breac-sláinte chugat." "Slán go fóill - goodbye for now".

T. Ó Domhnaill- Gaelic Seanchaí

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
A weekly podcast where I read stories I gather from writers around the world. Stories about scary things, daring do and ancient heroes. I throw in a little gael and Irish music to make it feel more like a Irish seanchai telling stories under the digital village oak tree. RSSVERIFY