Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry Newsletter
0:00
-30:43

Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry Newsletter

Three Stories and Two Poems

Cead Fáilte

A thousand welcomes to Crann na beatha Short Stories and Poetry for April 26th, 2024

I am Terrance Ó Domhnaill, your Irish scéalaí with more stories and poems from Medium writers.

I have three stories and two poems this week. The first is chapter thirteen of the ongoing story From Beyond the Water Wall, then, another short, real short, continuation of The Elementals and a mythical story about a cursed god and a child. Two poems, one about gardens and one from someone who rarely writes poetry but his older one is very good.

So gather round once more and let me read them to you so you can decide for yourselves.

Warning: The first story, chapter 13 of Beyond the Water Wall is rated PG-13 for a little bit of language, just so you know. I also give a warning in the podcast as well. We don’t want any parents to be surprised with wee ones listening.

It’s official, this week, this show debuted on Wreathes Across America (WAA Radio) at 11 pm last Monday night for any night owls out there. I haven’t heard any negative feed back so they must like it so far.

I don’t have much to give everyone this week in this edition of the newsletter. At least nothing of noteworthy anyway. I continue to find more and more story writers and poets every week as I actively search for writers and poets constantly.

I am glad to see that the Medium algorithms are starting to catch up with me now as I am seeing more new writers in my feeds. Good for all of you as I can offer a better variety of writing styles for the world wide audience in the weekly podcast.

Anyone reading this who may have any poems or short fictional stories (not too short) that they would like me to read, feel free to let me know and I will look at them. I already have a que of stories and poems into the middle of May and I add more every week. Keep them coming and if I see one that looks like something I can read easily enough, I will ask you if I may include it in my selections for a certain week in the near future.

This includes any Substack writers who might want to get in on this as well. I don’t mind reading your work, with your permission. I am not exclusive to just Medium writers.

I don’t mind reading a good series, like I am currently doing with Beyond the Water Wall, as long as it doesn’t have profanity in it. I am trying to keep this show at a G to PG rating as much as I can.

That is the drawback of reading a series. I start reading the chapters every week and get halfway or towards the end and the author decides to throw me a curve ball. Then I have to give an age limit warning. I don’t like doing that as I want this podcast to be a family friendly show. So, keep that in mind when you submit stories to me or I find them on my own.

Hit play above and listen to this weeks show and reach out to me if you want to be a contributor.

Here is this weeks selections for any readers who are able to access the stories and poems.

From Beyond the Water Wall

Chapter 13/26 — Roasted Pig

Don Woodby

Extraction: The Elementals Special Edition

A special Kraken Lore Monday Mashup edition of The Elementals

H.R. Parker

The Flower Singer and her Stoneman

A fairytale of sacrifice and transformation

Jojo Teckina

My Secret Garden, My Tír na nÓg

What secrets can a garden hide? A poem to say “thank you” to gardeners for National Garden Month

Sara Fellers

The Truth About My Life and Writing Poetry

Good or bad, I wrote poetry 25 years ago

Bruce Coulter

I thank all of you who read this as do the writers I showcase every week. This shows us that you appreciate what we are doing to bring you some quality writing for your enjoyment. Until next week, Sláinte


Go raibh maith agat. Thank you for listening to the show today. I hope you enjoyed the variety of stories and poems again this week. Maybe one of them might touch your heart a little.

Disclosure for everyone; In order to read the complete stories and poems, you will need to sign up for a subscription in Medium. If I see a link by the author on one of the stories to allow everyone to read it, I will let you know in the newsletters.

Please return again next week for another episode of Crann na Beatha Stories and Poetry.

As a Seanchaí, I want to continue to delight you with a story or a poem that may bring you a smile or make you think a little after we part for the day.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “Long-life and fair health to you — Saol fada agus breac-sláinte chugat.” “Slán go fóill — goodbye for now”.

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
A weekly podcast where I read stories I gather from writers around the world. Stories about scary things, daring do and ancient heroes. I throw in a little gael and Irish music to make it feel more like a Irish seanchai telling stories under the digital village oak tree. RSSVERIFY