Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

The Village Oak Tree Newsletter

Hanging out. Two friends discussing the Things that Matter Most This Week.

Céad Fáilte

A thousand Welcomes to The Village Oak Tree for June 12th, 2024

Welcome back everyone. Last week, my friend Mitch and I decided to try something a little different by hanging out and talking about the things that matter to our daily lives. We liked it so much that we are doing it again for you, and plan to do this again fairly regularly.

We consider ourselves just regular people, with normal issues that plague us on a weekly basis. Something we are sure everyone who watches or listens to the podcast can relate to.

We lead off with personal issues, like the leaky ten year old kitchen sink Mitch is trying to fix right now to my decorative outside trim over one of my bedroom windows that fell off the other day. For anyone who owns or rents a house or an apartment, this is part of everyday life.

We talk about the struggles we go through find competent people to make the repairs and our struggles with an ever deteriorating supply chain in the U.S.

Then, we break out and talk about the global news. Such as the implication of the Russian fleet making port in Havana, Cuba this week with everything the U.S. and NATO are doing to push Russia into a nuclear war. Russian ships in Havana is not a novel thing but the timing and class of the ships right now is definitely a statement by the Russians to the U.S. government.

Lastly, we talk about the looming recession/depression starting in the U.S. economy, despite what the mainstream news isn’t telling us. Mitch and I are both avid independent news viewers and what we are seeing in the independent news is very scary indeed for the average American consumer.

Join us here with the link above and watch the show as we take this podcast into new territory.


Right before our discussion, I have added a new one minute commercial for MBR radio. A veteran run, non-profit radio station in Boulder, CO, that offers a platform for veterans to learn about broadcast media and to give them a voice on things that matter to them.

On the back end, I have a two minute commercial for my website and book, Fugitives in a New United States. I realize that this is a bit shameless but I really do need to sell some more books. I can’t afford it, nor am I famous enough, to be able to hire a publishing agent so I have to do my own marketing.

If any readers are interested, it is available through all major book retailers across the world. Just look for this cover when searching for it online. It is available in eBook, paperback and hardcover.

Barnes and Noble cover

If you can’t find it, reach out to me. I have some sitting on my shelf ready to ship out as soon as someone purchases a hardcover or paperback version through the book store tab on my website at www.crann-na-beatha.com. If you don’t want to wait for them to print you a book, let me know as I can probably ship you one quicker than the retailers. Pay for it in my website and I will get it right out to you.


In other news, the world is coming apart, to offer a very broad stroke paintbrush to everything that is going on around us.

We are under a real threat of a limited nuclear exchange in eastern Europe over Ukraine. The Israelis keep massacring civilians by the hundreds, with the full complicity of the U.S., and the commercial real estate market is on the verge of collapsing in the U.S., taking a lot of small and medium sized banks with it.

Unemployment is rising and inflation is stagnate. All recipes for a recession soon. All according to a lot of independent financial and economic journalists. The U.S. is already starting to see the signs.


Mitch and I have enlisted another Medium writer into our motley crew of analysts for future podcasts. Ms. Frances Chiu Ph.D. She is very politically astute and when extended an invitation, at Mitch’s suggestion, she responded enthusiastically with a desire to join in on the fun.

So, look for more collaborations from our crew in the future as we talk about our daily struggles to keep a roof over our head, or some other such every day activity, the world at large and the impact events are having on our lives here at home. There is never a dull moment these days.


Thank you for your support. I hope you that you will return again next week for another episode of The Village Oak Tree.

As a Seanchaí, I hope you will continue to let me come to your village to bring you some news from the world outside that might make you think a wee bit.

Please share this podcast with your friends and relations. The more you share, the more we can convince enough people to make the world a better place to live in.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “May your hand always be stretched out in friendship and never in want” Slán go fóill.

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
The Village Oak Tree
Typically a 45 minute to one hour podcast of non-mainstream news from around the world and an Op Ed on social injustices.