Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

The Village Oak Tree Newsletter

The MAGA Slow Revolution

Céad Fáilte romhat! is é do bheatha

A thousand Welcomes to The Village Oak Tree for March 13th, 2024

My name is Terrance Ó Domhnaill, and I am returning again to your village this week with more political discourse.

My subject is the current state of affairs in the United States right now. Given that the president just delivered a controversial speech at the State of the Union address a few days ago, I thought it appropriate to dive in with the rest of the writers who are all expounding on all of the drama afterwards.

I have added in a one minute advert around the fifteen minute mark thereabouts to offer you my Public Service Announcement about preventing veteran suicides. I will keep running this ad for a bit because I feel this is a very important message.

With Military deployments largely out of the news now, the media has largely left them alone but they are still going on. The most recent from last month was a five hundred man unit from the 71st battalion, 7th Transportation Brigade (expeditionary), XVIII Airborne Corp. in four Army ships that left Newport News, VA within the last couple of weeks, with little notice of the deployment, for an indefinite time to build a portable quay as fast as possible for the aid ships to deliver food and medicine to Gaza.

This is normal but hard on the men and their families. This is why I run my little PSA in case there are any veterans who may listen to my podcasts or a close family member of a veteran, that may need a little nudge to seek help.

In a month or so, I will create another one using the free kits from the VA. Since I am a career veteran of many foreign wars and one of those who struggled, and still struggles from time to time, I can do no less in my podcast. If my PSA can help just one struggling veteran find the courage to reach out before it’s too late, I will consider this a good deed.


My podcast editorial is all about the SOTU and that GOP Senator’s rebuttal from her Alabama kitchen. There is a lot more as I rail about the loss of American freedoms granted in the first amendment and everything else related.

I talk a lot about what the MAGA revolution plans to do to the U.S. if Trump is elected again, based on what he has and is telling his rally goers. Americans need to take heed. This is no joke. The MAGA people are dead serious about taking over the government institutions of the U.S., both federal and state.


I won’t spoil it anymore than I already have. Watch my video and judge for yourself. If you are a GOP conservative, watch this and ask yourself, is this what I will be voting for in November? Or, are you one of those who really does want Trump to turn the U.S. into a fascist, autocratic oligarchy? Think about that long and hard.

I have been to countries where dictators ruled and it wasn’t pretty. The people there were miserable and poor. Poorer than nearly anyone in the U.S. If any Americans think they have it bad now, wait until the MAGA people are finished and you will see what I mean. Watch or listen to the podcast on your mobile apps to get a better picture of what’s coming if Trump wins in November. Remember, this podcast is also available on apps like Spotify, Apple Podcasts and many others.

That is all I have for everyone this week. As a seanchaí, I hope I have given all of you who watch or listen something to think about as you go about the rest of your week ahead.


I appreciate all who watch or listen to this podcast. I hope you enjoyed it and you will return to The Village Oak Tree again next week for another topic to make you think a little.

I have some interviews coming up by the end of this month and into April. If all goes well, one will be by an author who wrote a book called “Is MAGA a terrorist Movement?” I have another in the works with a noted African American educator who I want to ask about the latest elimination of DEI in post primary schools in the U.S. and I am in the preliminary stages of an interview with a scholar from Bangladesh whom I want to discuss how climate change and India’s latest politics may affect people there.

Share this podcast with your friends and relations. The more the merrier. If I can reach enough people with my messages, maybe I can nudge things a tad in the right direction.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “May the saddest day of your future be no worse than the happiest day of your past.” Slán go fóill — which means goodbye for now in Irish.

Here are the reference articles I used for my editorial this week:

The Media Are Getting Easier to Push Around

At a time of financial weakness and flagging public support, government officials are emboldened to bully the press.

By Paul Farhi for The Atlantic

Trump’s MAGA movement isn’t just winning bigly in America

As Europe turns right, Steve Bannon looks to get back in the game after a landmark Italian court win.

BEN MUNSTER AND MERIDITH MCGRAW for Politico.eu

Europe cannot keep assuming the US will fund its defense, European leader warns

Sinéad Baker for Business Insider

US economic warfare is a lot more unhinged than its British predecessor

  • The British Empire pioneered weaponising the global economy, a strategy now deployed with near reckless abandon by its successor, the American empire

By Alex Lo, an opinion writer for South China Morning Post

I watched Hungary’s democracy dissolve into authoritarianism as a member of parliament − and I see troubling parallels in Trumpism and its appeal to workers

Gábor Scheiring for The Conversation

The Right-Wing War on Abortion Has Nothing to Do With Babies

Coverage of the recent controversy over IVF has made a perilous omission: This is a battle over body autonomy.

By Jessica M. Goldstein for New Republic

0 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
The Village Oak Tree
Typically a 45 minute to one hour podcast of non-mainstream news from around the world and an Op Ed on social injustices.