Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
4
0:00
-33:46

Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry

Three Stories and Two Poems
4

Cead Fáilte

A thousand welcomes to Crann na beatha Short Stories and Poetry for August 2nd, 2024

I am Terrance Ó Domhnaill, your village scéalaí, back again this week with more stories and poems from authors around the world.

I have three stories and two poems for you this week. I am starting a new fantasy series, along with the science fiction series I started a couple of weeks ago. Both are from Substack writers. I will be bringing more stories from Substack writers going forward as I find them. I also have a short story from a Medium writer and two poems from Medium poets.

So gather round once more and let me read to you under the shade of the Crann na beatha, the tree of life.

Click the play button above on the podcast to listen to this week’s podcast.


I am not going to make a lengthy newsletter today as it is very hot outside, with thunderstorms brewing and I don’t have a lot to write about concerning the literary world today. Although I did clean off my book shelf this week of books I had read.

I had a few that I though the authors were going to write another novel for but alas, they are not. So, off they will go to the local library soon.

I am reading more and more Substack stories now as I said I would. I have two serialized fictions starting up in the podcast. I started one a couple of weeks ago and I have a new one this week.

If you are a fan of futuristic fantasy or Marvel heroes, you will like this one. I personally have read up to chapter four, although I started all of you on chapter one today. I am also reading a couple of others as well. Unfortunately, they are not within the standards I have set for this show due to language or sexuality, so I can’t read them for my audience.

There is one though that I am reading that I may include at a later date. Another adventure tale with heroes, monsters and romance. There is a heroine and her hero, who go around fighting off bad guys, while dodging her parents who want her to marry someone of their choosing. Typical medieval stuff but it is a good story.

I am feeling a little better about continuing this audio podcast now that I have found more writers that allow me to read their work. Not to dismiss Medium writers but I needed more stories and poems to keep things going.

As always, the call is still out for good short stories and poetry for me to read on this show. You can reply to his newsletter anytime as I publish every week or, you may reach out to me through the contact page on my website. It is perfectly safe as my website meets all of the U.S. and E.U. privacy and consent regulations.

Here are this week’s selections. Bear in mind that the first two are from Substack writers.

Shadows and Space
A mandate of sword and railgun
Index: Chapter 2 | Chapter 3 | Chapter 4 | Chapter 5…
Read more
Kathrine’s Substack
The Gravediggers of Orpheus [3]
You don’t have to read the previous parts, but in case you’re interested…
Read more

Whatever’s Coming Is Always Next

A short story

Maisie Archer

The Love of the Mermaid

It is deep and forgiving

Mariana Busarova

Clean Your Mind, Body, Life, Home, Mother Earth

Cleanse, Purify, Sanctify

That’s all I have for everyone this week. I thank you for joining me here and I hope everyone will come back again next week for more. I have two lengthy stories for you next week from Medium writers and a poem or two, once I find something. Sláinte


Go raibh maith agat. I hope you enjoyed the variety of stories and poems again this week. If you like the show, please like, subscribe and reply on whatever podcast app you listen to as this goes a long way towards reaching more listeners around the world.

As a Seanchaí, I hope you will allow me to continue delighting you with a story or a poem here under the Crann na beatha. Maybe they will bring you a smile and take you away from your troubles for a time.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “May your path rise up to meet you and the sun warm your bonnet as you walk down the lane to the pub. May your friends and relations bring you a pint after you retell these stories and poems I give you here.” Slán go fóill — goodbye for now.

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
A weekly podcast where I read stories and poetry from Medium and Substack writers from around the world. I add on some sound effects to enhance the stories and poems where appropriate. I keep the show at a G or PG rating so young people can enjoy as well.