Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
0:00
-33:06

Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry

Four Stories and a Poem

Cead Fáilte

Welcome back to another episode of Crann na beatha Short Stories and Poetry

I am Terrance Ó Domhnaill, your village scéalaí, returning again this week with more stories and poems from authors around the world.

Today, I have four stories and a poem for everyone.

I will start off with a short western, then a futuristic story, a sad romantic story, the last story is the first chapter about a young adult getting a start on a new life, and lastly, a poem that will resonate with a lot of people.

So gather round once more and let me read to you under the shade of the crann na beatha, the tree of life.


I want to thank those few readers who are still with me as I get close to my two year anniversary for this podcast/audiobook. Hard to believe it has been nearly two years since I started reading Medium stories and poems for the world in a podcast. I didn’t start the YouTube uploads until last November, I think, but my first upload to rss.com was on November 15th, 2022.

At first, it was just my own stories and blog articles I had written, then it was the news stories but by August of 2023, I was reading other peoples stories and I don’t think I have taken a week off since I started reading other peoples stories last year.

Not that I haven’t taken any small vacations here and there but I always made sure I had an episode in the can, so to speak, before I left on holiday.

Which is what I will be doing next week. Another miniature holiday early next week on reservations we made a year ago. That is how popular this particular place is. You have to make reservations a year in advance if you want to go camping there.

We will be back in time for me to create another show next Friday, don’t worry. I will be taking a extended vacation next spring though. For that, I might have to skip a week or so as we plan to be gone for at least a month.

With the literary world of online publishing the way it is, I am sure few will miss me while I am gone. Maybe I will post a travel log of our adventures as we travel around the country. I think that will depend on the availability of the internet during our trip.

I continue to mix things up with both Medium and Substack writers and plan to continue as I like the diversity. I have found one Substack writer living outside the United States who writes stories of all sorts. From romance to science fiction. I will also pick out one or two others as they come across my feeds.

As always, I have my medium writers that I can sort through for stories and poetry. Keep writing everybody as we head into our third year together soon.

With that, let me give you this week’s selections to read while you listen.

The Price of Gold

A short western story

Amalia Cotovan

Ferns of Columbo
Good Looking
"How does my nose look? Is it straight?" Kel asked the mirror but wanted Gar to answer…
Read more
Kathrine’s Substack
Night music
This is the stand alone story scheduled for Thursday. I did share an unplanned short story two days ago with the promise of a part 2, but let’s leave that one for next week. Today’s story is unconnected to it. Initially Night music was written for a Jane Austen contest for short stories with the theme “The art of listening”. This is what I kept in mind …
Read more

Miss Anne’s Book Nook

Every story has a lesson for the characters to learn. And sometimes, the reader, too.

Sara Fellers

Castles in the Sky

Gather them in rhymes

Mariana Busarova

That is all for this week. I am glad you joined me once again as we continue on this journey together. As always, feel free to reach out with any suggestions and I will see what I can do. I couldn’t do this without any of you. Until next week, Sláinte


Go raibh maith agat. I hope you enjoyed the variety of stories and poems again this week. If you like the show, please clap, subscribe and reply as this goes a long way towards reaching more listeners around the world.

As a Seanchaí, I hope you will allow me to continue delighting you with a story or a poem here under the Crann na beatha, The Tree of Life. Maybe they will bring you a smile and take you away from your troubles for a time.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “May the wind be at your back and the sun kiss your cheeks as you travel about your business over the next week until we meet again.” Slán go fóill — goodbye for now.

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

Thanks for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
A weekly podcast where I read stories and poetry from Medium and Substack writers from around the world. I add on some sound effects to enhance the stories and poems where appropriate. I keep the show at a G or PG rating so young people can enjoy as well.