Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
0:00
-37:28

Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry

Two Stories - A Young Adult Dragon Story and a very Scary Story

Cead Fáilte

A thousand welcomes to Crann na beatha Short Stories and Poetry for August 9th, 2024

I am Terrance Ó Domhnaill, your village scéalaí, back again this week with more stories and poems from authors around the world.

I have just have two short stories for you this week. Only two because they are a bit longer than the ones I normally read and I am still working to keep this podcast around the half hour range.

First is a wonderful young adult story about a young man’s struggle with taking care of dragons. This is a continuation of previous stories from this writer that I have read here before. Then, my second story is a scary one that I think everyone will like.

So gather round once more and let me read to you under the shade of the crann na beatha, the tree of life. (click play above to listen to the show)


On the first story, I edited out a couple of swear words as it was easy to do so without ruining the storyline. It is lengthy and a bit of a tear jerker, happy ending, fantasy story that seems to appeal to some young girls. Even some boys, if they like dragon stories. I made sure this story is rated G for everyone.

My second story, although it does not have any bad language in it, deals with some pretty scary themes and a bit of graphic violence so that one I am rating PG-13, especially with all of the additional sound effects I added. I loaded this one right up with as much as I could with my meager editing talents. I hope it gives everyone a bit of a chill.

These stories were so long that I could only select two this week in order to keep the show close to the half hour margin. It comes in at about 37 minutes with my intro, advert between stories and my closing message. That isn’t too bad.

I am getting this newsletter out a bit late on this Friday night as it took me all afternoon and then some to edit everything to make it presentable. I hope all who listen and read this appreciate my efforts.


In other news, I updated my website, www.crann-na-beatha.com, just a wee bit once again last week. I added in a Stripe payment feature to my online book store in case anyone does not like or have access to Paypal. I also spruced up the webpage where the book store is mounted to make it a little easier for visitors to browse the store and maybe buy a book. I have some on the shelf just waiting for a new home. I even do autographs on request.

Also, just to let everyone know, I have Google translate front and center on the home page so any visitors from anywhere in the world can change the website language to one they can read. I tested it by changing it to Irish and it works great. To add to that, I do believe my book, Fugitives in a New United States, can be ordered for languages other than Yankee English from book retailers in other countries, if that helps. This website meets all U.S. and EU GDPR privacy requirements so it is safe.

On a personal note, my wife hit me up tonight during our nightly walk to help her find a dark, clear sky tomorrow night to watch a meteor shower. That might be interesting. I am all about taking time off from the world to watch some meteors in the summer night sky. I just hope we get to see them.

That is all I have for you this week. Here are the story selections I picked out to read to the world.

It All Comes Down

A storm and a copper flower.

Violet Lively

The Prophet’s Inquisition

A light against heresy most foul

Lukas Unger

Go raibh maith agat. Thank you for your continued support. I wish I could find a way to reach out to more people around the world with this as I think stories and poetry bring much joy and peace to all peoples everywhere. The best way is for everyone who reads these newsletters and listens to the shows, to share this with everyone they know. Maybe I can bring a little peace to someone, somewhere that needs a little quiet time in between the bombs and bullets.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “May your path rise up to meet you and the sun warm your bonnet as you walk down the lane to the pub. May your friends and relations bring you a pint after you retell these stories and poems I give you here.” Slán go fóill — goodbye for now.

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

Thanks for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
Crann na beatha Stories and Poetry
A weekly podcast where I read stories and poetry from Medium and Substack writers from around the world. I add on some sound effects to enhance the stories and poems where appropriate. I keep the show at a G or PG rating so young people can enjoy as well.