Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

The Village Oak Tree Sunday Edition

August 11th, 2024
2

Cead Fáilte

Welcome to another Sunday Edition of The Village Oak Tree

As I say in the opening commentary, this is a spillover of all the rest of the news that hit the wires after last Wednesday. I start with a bit about the still ongoing Covid pandemic that everyone is ignoring, politics, and how they are intertwined. To wrap things up, I read another chapter from Michael Campi’s dystopian future. A serialized story about what things will look like when it all collapses. This podcast is restricted due to language (Michael’s story).


I am not going to write too much here other than invite you to watch the podcast. YouTube censored this video because I dared to tell everyone that the Covid pandemic is not over. Which goes against the CDC policies. Welcome to government censorship. As far as I know, Substack is not censoring this episode, yet. We shall see.

There is a lot going on all at once, everywhere in the world and I try to offer a cynical viewpoint as I talk about the things everyone else seems to be ignoring. Then, I wrap it up with Michael Campi’s The Priest (Formerly known as Bob) chapter 8.


To change the subject. I have come to the conclusion lately that these newsletters are not very popular. Maybe it’s the lack of a different catchy title or something each week. When I started down this path, I wanted to set up an online newspaper magazine type of newsletter to accompany the podcasts.

Little did I know that newspapers and news magazines are out of vogue these days. I have been rethinking my podcast journey of late and asking myself if I want to continue writing these news magazine articles into the void?

Not a lot of people read newspapers or news magazines anymore. The days of Time magazine and some of the others of the past are just that, the past. Maybe it’s time I think about the future.

I will continue for now and evaluate what I am doing compared to going back to writing commentary again. Although I never wrote anything that was overly popular back then either. Maybe it’s in the name. I have a distinctly Gaelic name that maybe puts people off. No matter.

I have been writing for Substack for nearly two years now with little to show for it. But, as I keep telling myself, I don’t write to make money. I would like to find a way to entice people to read what I write though. It’s not about the money but the read value. I would get more personal value out of this if I know people are reading what I write. That’s more important than any money.

It is because of the lack of readers that I am seriously considering cutting back on the podcasting to just the stories and poetry reading on Fridays. Very few read those newsletters here either but that podcast is very popular on Spotify and and here on Substack. I will keep that one going just for that and continue to offer it here, despite the lack of readers.

The Village Oak Tree I think will fade away by Samhain due to lack of interest in both viewers and readers. I am unable to compete with news broadcasters that have the backing of a news crew to help with setting up guests, news topics and other logistics.

I am feeling a little burnt out too and the enthusiasm is fading. I still believe in what I am doing but I think I will find another way to continue my activism.

As for my future on Medium? I don’t know yet. I will not give it up as there are a lot of writers whose content I love to read. As for writing here, I don’t know anymore. I have tried writing fictional stories, poetry, news magazines and nothing has ever gained any traction. I don’t have the time or patience to write short blog articles about nothing or my family two or three times a day. My life is too boring for that. I found that out very quickly during my first summer writing for Medium. I quickly ran out of things to write about.

I am thinking strongly that I may go back to writing fictional stories again. I need to finish my book I am currently trying to write. I am about halfway finished. The more I ponder that, the more appealing that becomes as the summer comes to an end.

We have an old tradition of sorts in my pagan community. Samhain (Halloween for the Christians) is the time for change, along with the changing over into the new year. That was what prompted me to start with the podcasting last year about this time. I think it is time for another change at the end of this year. I am still thinking about what that might look like.

I still have an active imagination that I can put to good use. If nothing else, I can write stories for my grandchildren and share them in my online publications. As long as my grandchildren like them, I will be satisfied with that.


That is all I have to say for now. I will post this for what its worth and wish everyone a good night, Sláinte

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

References:

¡Do Not Panic!
The Covid Summer Games
You’ve probably seen by now that one of the stars of the Olympics collapsed in Paris last night with covid…
Read more

Uncommitted Voters Had Hope for Harris’ Gaza Policy. It’s Fading.

In Michigan, Vice President Kamala Harris told some ceasefire advocates she was listening—then shut others down.

Sophie Hurwitz in Mother Jones

US clears aid to Israeli unit accused of mistreating Palestinians in West Bank

By Humeyra Pamuk for Reuters

US to lift ban on offensive weapons sales to Saudi Arabia

By Humeyra PamukPatricia Zengerle and Steve Holland for Reuters

Caitlin’s Newsletter
Washington Further Escalates Its War On Dissent
Listen to a reading of this article (reading by Tim Foley…
Read more

The Priest

Formerly known as Bob (part 8)

Michael Campi

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Thanks for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
The Village Oak Tree
A commentary and discussion with the occasional guests about current news from around the world, veterans affairs and other topics. Some controversial.