Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

The Village Oak Tree Newsletter

Poverty and MAGA are Coming for You

My name is Terrance Ó Domhnaill, and I am returning again to your village this week with more observations of our chaotic world.

Today, I want to talk about poverty in the U.S. and how it continues to get worse by the month for a lot of people now. I also talk about the MAGA situation and how that will affect the country and the world if they take power in 2025. So bring a wrap or a coat and sit under the village oak tree with me as I tell you the state of things outside of your world.

I am still running the veteran’s PSA at the fifteen-minute mark, which I will probably replace with a new one soon. Just as soon as I have a free minute or two. With gardening season starting to kick off now, my free time just became a little less until the seeds are planted.

I do truly appreciate everyone who reads these newsletters and (hopefully) watches or listens to the podcast.

Each podcast is approximately twenty five to 35 minutes long so as to keep everyone’s attention as best as I can. In this podcast, I voice my concerns about what I read in the news and what it could mean for all of us, John Q. Publics. There is a lot at stake this year in the U.S. and I am doing my part to keep things from falling apart. I know personally what can happen to a country when it all falls apart and I don’t want to see that here in the U.S.

So, come listen to this week’s podcast here in this newsletter or in your favorite mobile app and judge for yourself. Then, decide what you want to do to keep your civil liberties and rights in the U.S. Or not if you like autocratic theocracies.


Over the Paddy’s Day weekend, my lovely wife and I decided to travel down to South Carolina for a mini-holiday. It was her birthday weekend and she had told me she wanted to travel as a birthday present.

We got sidelined off of I-95 south by Google Maps for some idiotic reason only Google knows and we ended up traveling down to Myrtle Beach via a lot of back roads. As I talk about in the podcast, I took serious notice of the abject poverty I saw as we navigated small, two lane, torn up roads through nearly deserted small towns and villages.

This made me see what all of these MAGA worshippers are all mad about. After seeing that, I don’t blame them. I do question their belief in the almighty MAGA church as a way out of their poverty though.

In this week’s podcast, I talk about some people I ran into and their reasons for the poverty situation they are in and what they are doing to survive every day. Them and millions of others just like them from coast to coast.

I also heard from Jessica Wildfire this week as well. She and her family are struggling just like the people I talked to on my holiday. Things have changed for them, like so many others, and she has had to put family first ahead of writing like she used to. I missed her “Okay, Doomer” newsletter. Things haven’t been the same since she had to put it aside for a bit.

It’s because of people like the couple in South Carolina and Ms. Wildfire that I produce and host this podcast every week. Even if I don’t have much of an audience. I figure that if I can reach just one person a week, I have accomplished something with it. Obviously, I would like to reach more. Maybe in time.

Look at Thom Hartmann, he has been producing and hosting his network for fifteen years now and still going strong. Chis Hedges has been a reporter for decades and he isn’t stopping. It’s people like that, that give me inspiration to continue on every week.

I have some interviews coming in April along the same lines as this week’s show that I hope will spark a little interest. Working class Americans need to wake up out of their apathetic stupor and pay attention to this MAGA cult. They are not your friends. Something I will be trying to make clear with future podcasts until election time.

Okay, I have spouted off enough now. Here are the articles I used to reference my editorial for this week.

References:

Joe Biden’s Parting Gift to America Will be Christian Fascism

The Democratic Party had one last chance to implement the kind of New Deal Reforms that could save us from another Trump presidency and Christian fascism. It failed.

CHRIS HEDGES

Israel’s Trojan Horse

The “temporary pier” being built on the Mediterranean coast of Gaza is not there to alleviate the famine, but to herd Palestinians onto ships and into permanent exile.

CHRIS HEDGES

Scientific Proof Republicans Are Killing Young Women

If you’re female and pregnant in a Red state, the legislature and police of that state own you and your body, regardless of your maturity or life circumstances...

THOM HARTMANN

‘Knock it off’: Speaker Mike Johnson tries to stop Republicans from campaigning against each other in bitter primary battles

By Manu Raju and Melanie Zanona, CNN

GOP Candidate Who Called for Obama’s Execution Proceeds to Double Down

Michele Morrow is running for office in North Carolina—and she sees nothing wrong with calling for the execution of Barack Obama.

From The New Republic

Vulnerable man pleads with UK government to block extradition to US

Diogo Santos Coelho from Portugal faces a 52-year sentence for alleged cybercrime relating to RaidForums site

From The Guardian

Putin warns the West a Russia-NATO conflict is just one step from World War Three

By Guy Faulconbridge in Reuters

India moves to implement controversial citizenship bill that excludes Muslims

By Heather Law, Vedika Sud and Tara John, CNN

California county on edge over bid to recall far-right, election-denying official

Shasta county residents voted on 5 March on whether to recall Kevin Crye, the president of the board of supervisors

From The Guardian


That’s all I have for this week. I hope I have given everyone something to think about as you go about your daily lives. If you feel like I am worth returning for and you are feeling a little generous, feel free to leave a donation to help me keep going. Any amount is helpful. I have multiple ways to donate. Through my website at www.crann-na-beatha.com, at the bottom of this newsletter in the very small print and logo, or at rss.com on The Village Oak Tree podcast page.


Thank you for stopping by. I hope you got something from all of this and you will return again next week for more. Please share this podcast with your friends and relations. The more you share, the more we can convince enough people to make the world a better place to live in.

As a Seanchaí, I hope you will continue to let me travel to your village to bring you some news from the world outside that might make you think a little after we part for the day.

As I say good bye this week, I wish to leave you with this Irish blessing as you go about your day. “May the saddest day of your future be no worse than the happiest day of your past.” Slán go fóill — which means goodbye for now in Irish.

T. Ó Domhnaill — Gaelic Seanchaí

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
The Village Oak Tree
Typically a 45 minute to one hour podcast of non-mainstream news from around the world and an Op Ed on social injustices.