Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

The Village Oak Tree

My Thoughts on Critical Race Theory
2

On this Sunday afternoon, I felt very strongly about getting ahead of my upcoming interview with a guest who has very strong views against CRT. He has a choice word for people who promote this. I won’t give it away. You will have to listen to the interview on Wednesday to hear it. It is not a normal derogatory slang but it could be in certain circles.

I wanted to let the audience know in advance that his views on this are not my own. I agreed with a couple of small points regarding classroom instruction, but for the rest, not so much.

I originally set this interview up because he is an Air Force veteran and I thought we would talk about his time in the military but nope, he was on point with CRT so I went ahead with the interview anyway.

Watch my live stream video above and let me know what you think, one way or another. It is short, less than fifteen minutes, with no commercials.

I have no liking for people who think they are superior to anyone else just because of the color of their skin, religion or physical attributes. There is no room in the world for European exceptionalism and that is what I talk about today. I added in a little world history as well for context.

Critical Race Theory should be studied in schools but the curriculum needs to be written in a manner that does not point any fingers at any one group. We who live in the present, should not be held accountable for our horrible ancestors. No one is superior to anyone else in this world. Some are smarter, are born with better physical attributes, or are born into wealthy families. Maybe all the above, none of the above, as most of us are, somewhere in between. None of that makes us superior to anyone else.

Different is different, nothing more. Why can’t humans accept that? It seems that our prehistoric tribal DNA still hasn’t evolved past that yet.

As I said in the beginning, I live streamed and recorded this message as a disclaimer ahead of Wednesday’s interview. My conscience wouldn’t let me alone unless I did. Now I feel like I can sleep a little better knowing I did my best to let everyone know that I don’t think like this man in my interview.

I consider myself some one who tolerates anyone unless they want to behave stupidly. I have traveled to a lot of countries in my lifetime where I was the outsider, so I know what it is to feel different and I have come across some prejudice as well. It is never pleasant.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday evening and I will be back on Wednesday with my regular newsletter. Sláinte

T. Ó Domhnaill - Gaelic Seanchaí

Reference:

Why The Fourth of July Was a Day of Mourning for Enslaved People

We must remember whose freedom and “independence” we’re celebrating

Allison Wiltz

Allison Wiltz

Thank you for reading Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

2 Comments
Crann na beatha-The Tree of Life
The Village Oak Tree
A commentary and discussion with the occasional guests about current news from around the world, veterans affairs and other topics. Some controversial.